The Need to Innovate

2018 - Q2 Print

Melbourne-based Pixel Technologies looks to grow. The centuries-old proverb “necessity is the mother of invention” can be applied to virtually every technological breakthrough; when a need is identified, clever people rise to the challenge, finding better, faster or easier ways of meeting the need. Innovation is what drives Pixel Technologies, an Australia-based maker of communication, monitoring and other devices that make elevators safer and easier to use and maintain, and more cost effective to operate. With its ONIX and OPAL touchscreen and display technology, and its groundbreaking emFONE emergency-phone systems

Pixel is poised to be a leader in the field of elevator technology. Pixel Technologies was launched in 1994 under the name Design-Com with the same goal it pursues today, nearly a quarter-century later: providing “world-class communication solutions” to the elevator industry. To that end, Pixel creates products for clients large and small, and systems customized from the design phase all the way through production.

From its distinctive, “green” home office building in Carlton, Melbourne, the company runs a production facility and satellite offices, in Brisbane, Sydney and

The company’s headquarters building in Carlton, Melbourne, looks fanciful with its multicolored panels, but the building was designed to be pure “green” — it’s Australia’s most eco-friendly commercial building. The panels are optimized to provide maximum daylight, shade, views and glare control.

Singapore. Company agents are stationed across Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the U.K. and the U.S. to service clients. From its earliest days, Pixel has assembled everything in-house, seeing local control as key to maintaining quality. At first, production was very labor intensive, but today, Pixel operates a modern, automated 2,677-m2 manufacturing facility in Melbourne.

Touchscreens, visual displays and two-way video are among the new technologies that Pixel customers are flocking to. They have been since the company introduced the first full-color lift display in 2002. The company’s OPAL Plus and OPAL Touch screens are being adapted to multiple uses. For example, touchscreens can eliminate the traditional car operating panel and its raised, mechanical buttons. This is especially advantageous in a hospital setting: instead of having hard-to-clean buttons that can harbor dangerous microbes or viruses, the smooth glass screen can be easily wiped with disinfectants, eliminating a potential source of infection.

Two-way video, enabled through the visual display and integrated cameras, allows a passenger in an emergency situation to speak “face-to-face” with the responder on the other end of the call, a benefit shown to help reduce stress and panic. This system allows for the interaction to be recorded, enabling performance assessments and verification of events should a dispute arise. In a hospital, the two-way video system could be a lifesaver if an elevator entrapment of a distressed patient occurs. In this case, a doctor can monitor the situation and guide accompanying medical personnel through necessary procedures.

The visual displays also provide information and advertising, which offer building owners a new revenue stream. To that end, Pixel is working with oOH! Media, a provider of customized content for the displays.

The company’s bread-and-butter product, emFONE (a trademark for the company’s “emergency phone”), was Pixel’s first product, born of the realization that elevator passengers using the emergency phone may not be able to give vital information to the person on the other end of the line. Perhaps they were having a severe medical issue, were not fluent in the local language or were unfamiliar with the building’s location. emFONE removed these burdens by automatically (through a recorded message) telling the responder the location of the lift from which the phone button was pressed. The passenger then was given the opportunity to provide further details. In those days, before caller ID and location technologies (such as global positioning system) became commonplace, the emFONE was a useful product.

The system has continued to evolve and maintain its leading reputation, and its popularity proves this. emFONE continues to be among Pixel’s bestsellers, and company representatives estimate it is in use in at least 80% of the elevators in Australia and New Zealand. emFONE is also a big seller in the U.K. and Singapore, Pixel is making inroads into Asia and through its sales and support office in the latter.

The company is increasing its business in Kuala Lumpur, and, with a current project in Qatar, is growing in the Middle East. There also are deals in play in the U.S. At least 40 percent of Pixel’s business comes from overseas, the company estimates. The company is looking to expand even more, and is open to new international distributors. The company has popular offerings in some of the latest technology to keep elevators connected, such as remote monitoring, wireless gateways and the Internet. Remote monitoring is a growing trend in the industry, and because of its potential to save money for building owners and maintenance contractors alike, it’s not hard to see why. Pixel’s LMS (Lift Monitoring System), which allows for constant monitoring of connected elevators and escalators, is on the cutting edge of this boom. And, Pixel is moving heavily into wireless gateway, Internet and networking technologies. It is a push away from the old technology of phone lines, where elevators can now talk “to the cloud.”

Pixel offers cutting-edge communication, monitoring and accessibility solutions. Some of the company’s leading products follow.

ONIX and OPAL — Display Screens

Pixel’s ONIX and OPAL Embedded Lift Displays provide colorful video interfaces that can be used for various purposes. In addition to the standard “Position Indicator” function, elevators equipped with these systems use high-quality screens that can be used to provide news, weather, advertising and event information. Content can be configured and updated through the building network or directly via USB port, or automatically updated at preset times. OPAL Touch adds a touchscreen that can replace the standard mechanical push buttons. Multilingual and voice feedback (for the visually impaired) functions are available. The OPAL Lobby Display is a customizable 55-in. panel that can provide building information and more.

emFONE® Emergency Telephones

The emFONE line of emergency telephones provides automated features that quickly connect to service personnel during an elevator emergency. They automatically dial and play a recorded message to the phone number programmed into the system. If the first number does not answer, a second or third programmed number will be contacted. The recorded message identifies the calling location, which can be replayed by the service technician. The prerecorded message means that people who have difficulty communicating because of disability or a language barrier can still receive help during an elevator emergency.

Pixel has also created an elevator wireless gateway, as well as a wireless intercom system that allows communication between the machine room, car top and pit. System hardware includes a machine-room wiring terminator module, master intercom unit in the machine room, car-top and pit intercoms, and a car station. The network is brought together with the EM-4GE/IS dual-SIM wireless communication gateway with intercom controller, which can be installed in several locations. The system is plug-and-playready with a local area network cable.

PI

The PI (Lift Position Indicator) series is a range of car and landing position/direction displays in several sizes. All are enabled with elevator messages and customizable arrows, colors and “auto-sleep” mode.

Push buttons Pixel offers vandal-resistant stainless-steel elevator buttons with built-in sounds and raised Braille markings for the visually impaired. They have variable color illumination, quick-connect capability and compact design.

Elevator Monitoring Products

Pixel has a monitoring system, RPMS (Remote Phone Monitoring System), which offers two advantages: safety and reduced cost. RPMS automatically tests all connected phones, eliminating the high cost of periodic manual testing. Faults are immediately identified, and email alerts facilitate quick response by service personnel.

Pixel has also created a monitoring system that provides system programming and status reporting for wireless communication gateways. This is called Pixel Monitoring, with which users can monitor uptime/downtime and faults/alarm calls, and locate devices and check status.

The Pixel LMS allows remote, real-time monitoring of elevator and escalator performance (ELEVATOR WORLD, December 2017). Using specialized hardware, LMS allows building managers or other designated personnel to maintain a 24/7 status watch on buildingtransportation equipment, alerting and logging faults, availability, position and direction. Monitoring can be done through an Ethernet or Internet connection.

Projects

Pixel has worked on several high-profile projects around the world in recent years. Among them:

  • Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Mumbai: emFONEs, completed in 2015
  • International Towers, Sydney: emFONE, emLIGHT emergency lighting and OPAL Plus lift displays, completed in 2016
  • Arts Centre Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia: emFONE, emLIGHT, OPAL Plus, OPAL Touch and PIs, completed in 2013
  • Shangri-La Hotel, Doha, Qatar: OPAL Plus and OPAL Touch, completed in 2015
  • Crown Promenade Hotel, Melbourne: OPAL Plus and OPAL Touch, completed in 2015
  • Marina Bay Sands, Singapore: OPAL Plus and emFONE, completed in 2016
  • Freshwater Place, Melbourne: OPAL Plus and OPAL Touch, completed in 2016
  • Riverside Centre, Brisbane, Australia: OPAL Touch and large-scale Touch Tenant Directory screens with lift remote-call-giving integrations, completed in 2016 🌐

إضاءة على الشركة

2018 - Q2 طباعة

ان المثل القديم “الضرورة أم الاختراع” يمكن تطبيقه على كل اختراق تكنولوجي تقريبا. فعندما يتم تحديد الحاجة، يرتفع الاذكياء الى مستوى التحدي، وتظهر طرقا أفضل وأسرع أو أسهل لتلبية تلك الحاجة. الابتكار هو ما يقود بيكسيل تكنولوجيز، وهي شركة صانعة مقرها أستراليا لأجهزة الاتصالات والرصد وغيرها من الأجهزة التي تجعل المصاعد أكثر أمنا وأسهل للاستخدام والمحافظة عليها، وأكثر فعالية من حيث تكلفة التشغيل. ومن خلال تقنية أونيكس و أوبال التي تعمل باللمس و تقنية العرض، و أنظمة الهاتف الذكي إمفون الرائدة في مجال الطوارئ، فإن بيكسيل مستعدة لتكون رائدة في مجال تكنولوجيا المصاعد.

انطلقت بيكسيل تكنولوجيز في عام 1994 تحت اسم ديسين-كوم بنفس الهدف الذي تسعى إليه اليوم، بعد ما يقرب من ربع قرن:وهو توفير “حلول الاتصالات من الطراز العالمي” لصناعة المصاعد.و تحقيقا لهذه الغاية، أوجدت بيكسيل منتجات للعملاء كبيرة وصغيرة، وأنظمة متخصصة من مرحلة التصميم حتى الإنتاج.

من مبنى مقرها المميز، “الأخضر” في كارلتون،

ملبورن، تدير الشركة منشأة الإنتاج والمكاتب الفضائية ، في بريسبان، سيدني و سنغافورة. يتمركز وكلاء الشركة في جميع أنحاء أستراليا ونيوزيلندا وكندا والمملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة لخدمة العملاء. منذ أيامها الأولى، قامت بيكسيل بتجميع كل شيء في الداخل و رأت أن السيطرة المحلية مفتاح للحفاظ على الجودة منذ البداية، كان الإنتاج باليد العاملة الكثيفة ، ولكن اليوم، بيكسيل تشغل منشأة تصنيع اوتوماتيكيةحديثة، مساحتها 2،677 متر مربع في ملبورن.

تعد شاشات اللمس والشاشات المرئية والفيديو ثنائي الاتجاه من بين التقنيات الجديدة التي يتدفق عليها عملاء بيكسيل. ومنذ ذلك الحين عندما قدمت الشركة أول عرض للمصعد بالألوان الكاملة في عام 2002. ويجري حاليا تكييف شاشات أوبال بلَص و أوبال التي تعمل باللمس لتوافق الاستخدامات المتعددة. على سبيل المثال، يمكن لشاشات اللمس ان تحل محل لوحة التشغيل التقليدية للصاعدة وأزرارها الميكانيكية المرتفعة. وهذا مفيد بشكل خاص في حالة المستشفىات: فبدلا من وجود أزرار يصعب تنظيفها والتي يمكن أن تؤوي الميكروبات أو الفيروسات الخطرة، يمكن مسح الشاشة الزجاجية السلسة بسهولة بالمطهرات، والقضاء على اى مصدر محتمل للعدوى.

يسمح الفيديو ثنائي الاتجاه، الذي يتم تشغيلة من خلال العرض المرئي والكاميرات المدمجة، للركاب في حالة الطوارئ التحدث “وجها لوجه” مع المستجيب على الطرف الآخر من المكالمة، وهي فائدة ظهرت للمساعدة في الحد من التوتر والذعر . ويسمح هذا النظام بتسجيل التفاعل، مما يتيح تقييم الأداء والتحقق من الأحداث في حالة حدوث مشكلات. في المستشفى، يمكن أن يكون نظام الفيديو ثنائي الاتجاه منقذا إذا حدث انحباس في المصعد لمريض الطوارىء. ففي هذه الحالة، يمكن للطبيب مراقبة الوضع وتوجيه الموظفين الطبيين المرافقين من خلال الإجراءات اللازمة.

كما توفر شاشات العرض المرئية للمعلومات والإعلانات التي توفر لمالكي المباني دخلا جديدا للإيرادات. وتحقيقا لهذه الغاية، تعمل بكسل مع أوه! ميديا،على محتوى مخصص للشاشات.

وكان منتج الشركة من الخبز والزبدة، هو إمفون (العلامة تجارية ل”هاتف الطوارئ” الذي أنتجته الشركة)، المنتج الأول لبيكسيل، ولد من إدراك أن ركاب المصعد الذين يستخدمون الهاتف في حالات الطوارئ قد لا يكونون قادرين على إعطاء معلومات هامه للشخص على على الطرف الآخر من الخط. او ربما يكون لديهم مشكلة طبية حادة، او لا يجيدون اللغة المحلية أو غير ملمين بموقع المبنى. أزال إمفون هذه الأعباء تلقائيا (من خلال رسالة مسجلة) من خلال إخبارالمستجيب عن موقع المصعد عن الذي قام بالضغط على زر الهاتف . ثم يعطي الراكب الفرصة للابلاغ عن مزيد من التفاصيل. في تلك الأيام، قبل أن تصبح هوية المتصل وتقنيات الموقع (مثل نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي) شائعةً، كان إمفون منتج مفيد.

استمر النظام في التطور والحفاظ على سمعته الرائدة، وشعبيته تثبت ذلك. ولا يزال إمفون من بين الأكثر مبيعا في بيكسيل، ويقدر ممثلو الشركة أنهلا يزال يستخدم في ما لا يقل عن 80٪ من المصاعد في أستراليا ونيوزيلندا. إمفون هو أيضا بائع كبير في المملكة المتحدة وسنغافورة، تحقق بيكسيل تقدما في آسيا من خلال مكتب المبيعات والدعم في هذه الأخيرة. وتعمل الشركة على زيادة أعمالها في كوالا لمبور، ومع مشروعها الحالي في قطر، تنمو في الشرق الأوسط. وهناك أيضا صفقات في الولايات المتحدة. وتقدر الشركة ان ما لا يقل عن 40 في المئة من أعمالها تأتي من الخارج. وتتطلع الشركة للتوسع أكثر، وهي مفتوحة للموزعين الدوليين الجدد.

الشركة لديها عروض محببة في البعض من أحدث التقنيات للحفاظ على التواصل مع المصاعد ، مثل الرصد عن بعد، القنوات اللاسلكية والإنترنت. والرصد عن بعد هو الاتجاه المتزايد في هذه الصناعة، بسبب قدرته على توفير المال لأصحاب المباني ومقاولي الصيانة

على حد سواء، فإنه ليس من الصعب أن نفهم لماذا. نظام LMS (نظام مراقبة المصعد)، والذي يسمح بالمراقبة المستمرة للمصاعد والسلالم المتحركة المتصلة، هو في طليعة هذا الازدهار. و، تتحرك بكسل بشكل كبير إلى القناة اللاسلكية، والإنترنت وتقنيات الشبكات. بل اندفعت بعيدا عن التكنولوجيا القديمة من خطوط الهاتف، حيث المصاعد يمكنها الآن التحدث “إلى السحابة.”

تقدم بيكسيل أحدث حلول الاتصالات والرصد وحلول التواصل هى ما تسعى لتحقيقة بعض هذه المنتجات الرائدة .

شاشات العرض- أونيكس و أوبال

توفر أونيكس بيكسيل و أوبال إمبديد ليفت ديسبلايس واجهات الفيديو الملونة التي يمكن استخدامها لأغراض مختلفة. بالإضافة إلى وظيفة “ المبين ” القياسية، فالمصاعد المجهزة بهذه الأنظمة تستخدم شاشات عالية الجودة يمكن استخدامها لتوفير الأخبار والطقس والإعلان ومعلومات الحدث. ويمكن تكوين ذلك المحتوى وتحديثه من خلال شبكة المبنى أو مباشرة عبر منفذUSB، أو تحديثه تلقائياً في أوقات محددة مسبقاً. تضيف شاشة اللمس أوبال امكانية أن تحل محل أزرار الدفع الميكانيكية القياسية. تتوفر ردود صوتية و متعددة اللغات (لذوي الإعاقة البصرية). أوبال لوبي ديسبليي هي لوحة 55 بوصة قابلة للتخصيص يمكن أن توفر معلومات المبنى وأكثر من ذلك.

هواتف الطوارئ إمفون

يوفر خط إمفون من هواتف الطوارئ ميزة أنه يتصل بسرعة بموظفي الخدمة فى حالة الطوارئ في المصعد. فيتصل تلقائيا ويشغل رسالة مسجلة إلى رقم الهاتف المبرمج في النظام. فإذا لم يجب الرقم الأول، سيتم الاتصال برقم برمجي ثان أو ثالث. وتحدد الرسالة المسجلة موقع الاتصال الذي يمكن أن يعيد تشغيله فني الخدمة. تعني الرسالة المسجلة مسبقاً أن الأشخاص الذين يواجهون صعوبة في التواصل بسبب الإعاقة أو حاجز اللغة لا يزال بإمكانهم تلقي المساعدة أثناء حالة الطوارئ في المصاعد.

كما أنشأت بيكسيل قناة مصعد لاسلكية ، فضلا عن نظام انتركم الاتصال الداخلي اللاسلكي الذي يسمح بالاتصال بين غرفة الآلات،و أعلى الصاعدة و البئر. وتشمل أجهزة النظام وحدة نهايات الأسلاك بغرفة الآلات، ووحدة الاتصال الداخلي الرئيسية في غرفة الآلات،و أنظمة الاتصال الداخلي بين البئر وأعلى الصاعدة، و بلوحة طلبات الصاعدة.

جُمعت الشبكة مع بوابة الاتصالات اللاسلكية EM4GE/IS dual-SIM مع وحدة تحكم الانتركم للاتصال الداخلي، والتي يمكن تركيبها في عدة مواقع. فالنظام هو توصيل وتشغيل مباشر جاهز مع كابل شبكة المنطقة المحلية.

PI

سلسلة PI (مبيات المصعد) هي مجموعة من شاشات مبينات الصاعدة و الادوار للمكان و الاتجاة في عدة أحجام. جميعها مفعلة مع رسائل المصعد وسهام وألوان قابلة للتخصيص ووضع الفصلالتلقائي.

أزرار الدفع

تقدم بيكسيل أزرار المصاعد المقاومة للصدأ والمقاومة للتلف مع علامات برايل للمعاقين بصرياً وأصوات مدمجة.و تتمتع بإضاءة لون متغير، والقدرة على الاتصال السريع وتصميم مضغوط.

منتجات مراقبة المصعد

بكسل لديها نظام مراقبة ) RPMS نظام مراقبة الهاتف عن بعد)، والذي يوفر ميزتين: السلامة وخفض التكلفة. نظام RPMS يختبر جميع الهواتف المتصلة، يزيل التكلفة العالية للاختبار اليدوي الدوري. يتم التعرف على العيوب على الفور، وتسهيل التنبيهات بالبريد الإلكتروني لتسهيل الاستجابة السريعة من قبل موظفي الخدمة.

كما أنشأت بيكسيل نظام مراقبة يوفر برمجة النظام وإعداد التقارير عن حالة شبكات الاتصالات اللاسلكية. وهذا ما يسمى بكسل مونيتورينغ، والذي يمكن المستخدمين من رصد وقت التشغيل و التوقف و الاعطال و التنبيه، وتحديد الأجهزة والتحقق من الحالة.

يتيح نظام Pixel LMS المراقبة عن بعد في الوقت الفعلي لأداء المصاعد والسلالم المتحركة (إليفاتور وورد، ديسمبر 2017). باستخدام الأجهزة المخصصة، LMS ويسمح لمديري المباني أو غيرها من الموظفين المعينين بالحفاظ على مراقبة الحالة 24/7 على المبنى ومعدات النقل، وعرض التنبيه والتسجيل للبيانات، للموضع والاتجاه. ويمكن إجراء الرصد من خلال شبكات الإيثرنت أو الاتصال بالإنترنت.

المشاريع

وقد عملت بكسل على العديد من المشاريع رفيعة المستوى في جميع أنحاء العالم في السنوات الأخيرة. بينها:

  • مطار تشاتراباتي شيفاجي الدولي، مومباي: إمفونيس، أكمل في عام 2015
  • انترناشيونال توورز، سيدني: إمفون، إملايت الإضاءة في حالات الطوارئ و أوبال بلَص شاشات المصعد، أنجز في عام 2016
  • آرت سنتر ملبورن، ملبورن، أستراليا: إمفون و إمليت و أوبال بلَص و أوبال توتش وPIs، الذي أنجز في 2013
  • فندق شانغريلا، الدوحة، قطر: أوبال بلَص و أوبال توتش، الذي أنجز في عام 2015
  • كراون بروميناد هوتل، ملبورن: أوبال بلَص و أوبال توتش، أكمل في عام 2015
  • مارينا باي ساندز، سنغافورة: أوبال بلَص و إمفون، التي أنجز في عام 2016
  • فريش ووتر بلاس، ملبورن: أوبال بلَص و أوبال توتش، التي أنجز في عام 2016
  • مركز ريفرسايد، بريسبان، أستراليا: أوبال توتش
و شاشات توجيه مع تكاملات إعطاء المكالمة عند بعد، أنجز في عام 2016®